Henry Moore Institute Dissertation & Essay Prizes 2011

Submissions are invited for two separate Henry Moore Institute Dissertation and Essay Prizes 2011, Deadline 30th September 2011

As part of the Henry Moore Institute‘s annual research programme, in 2011 we will be awarding two prizes for extended pieces of writing on any aspect of contemporary, modern or historic sculpture. The Henry Moore Institute Dissertation and Essay Prizes are open to BA and MA students of all disciplines.

Henry Moore Institute Dissertation Prize:

MA Dissertation Prize: £250
BA Dissertation Prize: £150

Henry Moore Institute Collections Essay:

MA Essay Prize: £250
BA Essay Prize: £150

The Henry Moore Institute manages the sculpture collection and archive of Leeds Museums and Galleries.  This partnership has built one of the strongest public collections of sculpture in Britain. The Institute encourages researchers from across the country to explore our collections during the course of their graduate and post-graduate studies.  The Henry Moore Institute Collections Essay specifically invites submissions of original essays that attend to works or archive material from the Leeds Museums and Galleries collections.

Over the last decade we have used the core of the collection, which is twentieth-century British (though we hold sculpture and archive material from the eighteenth and particularly nineteenth centuries), as a platform on which to build up a broader-based collection, representative of the practice of sculpture in Britain over the last century looking to work by neglected practitioners, as well as those more widely known.

Amongst the many artists represented in the collection are: Keith Arnatt, Claire Barclay, Phyllida Barlow, Helen Chadwick, Tony Cragg, Tacita Dean, Jacob Epstein, John Flaxman, Gilbert & George, Eric Gill, Brian Griffiths, Barbara Hepworth, Phillip King, Langlands & Bell, Bruce McLean, Henry Moore, David Nash, Claes Oldenburg, Eduardo Paolozzi, Cornelia Parker, Eva Rothschild, and Bill Woodrow.

Collections essays should be between 2,500 and 5,000 words.

Both should be the result of original research. A coursework essay can be submitted.

Students wishing to find out more about the collections should contact Kirstie Gregory.
Submission details:

Deadline: 30 September 2011

Contact: Kirstie Gregory, Research Programme Assistant. Email: kirstie@henry-moore.org. Telephone: 0113 246 7467.

Esssys should be submitted by email to Kirstie Gregory, with a cover letter indicating the applicant’s academic institution and course of study and which prize is being applied for.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s